Children's Domestic Fiction

The Family in Children's Fiction

See also Family Issues on the Bibliotherapy page.

Families in Fiction (Mid-Continent Public Library, Independence, MO): In two sections, books for younger readers (16 books) and books for older readers (23). Author, title, summary.

New Addition: A Booklist about Babies, Siblings and Families (Voorheesville Public Library, NY): Author, title, and short description for over 20 easy books about babies, siblings, and families.

Books About Fathers and Their Children (Reading Is Fundamental): Title, author, publication year, one-line summary of each. Reading levels not noted but most seem to be for children from preschool to grade 3. Over 30 books, from Cari Best's Taxi! Taxi! to Daddies are for Catching Fireflies by Harriet Ziefert. Also: Suggested Reading List for Fathers and Children, with about 20 titles, from Why Do You Love Me? by Martin Baynton to My Dearest Mouse: The Wind in the Willows Letters by Kenneth Grahame.

A Fanfare of Family and Friends Books for Preschoolers (Elmhurst Public Library, IL): Author and title only for about 50 picture books about families, friends, and mothers and fathers.

Children's Books About Weddings (The Public Library of Cincinnati and Hamilton County, OH): Author and title only for over 25 easy, junior fiction, and non-fiction books about weddings, from Betty's Wedding: A Photograph Album of My Big Sister's Wedding by Michael Bragg to Piggins and the Royal Wedding by Jane Yolen.

Read Alikes for Little House on the Prairie (Stanly County Public Library, NC): Readalikes for Laura Ingalls Wilder's Little House on the Prairie, these are old-fashioned family stories. Author, title, publication year, page count, summary for about 25 books, from Thelma Harrington Bell's The Two Worlds of Davy Blount to Kate Douglas Smith Wiggin's Rebecca of Sunnybrook Farm.


Friendships in Children's Fiction

Friendship (Louisville Free Public Library, KY): Author, title, and summary of over 15 picture books and easy readers about friendship, from Aliki's Best Friends Together Again to Gabrielle Vincent's Feel Better, Ernest!.

Friendship in Fiction (Kansas City Public Library, KS): Author, title, and summary for over 50 books about being friends, pen pals, and neighbours, and about moving and celebrating birthdays.


Arts and Crafts in Children's Fiction

Artists in Fiction (Lesley Lundgren - Allen County Public Library, Fort Wayne, IN): Author and title listed for about 60 children's books about real artists (Van Gogh, Monet, Picasso, Degas, etc.) Updated Jan. 2006.

Fiction for Grades 1-9: Visual Arts (Zuckerman's Barn, Massachusetts): Author, title, summary for almost 90 children's books about the visual arts, from All I See by Cynthia Rylant to Words of Stone by Kevin Henkes.

Fiction for Grades 1-9: Music (Zuckerman's Barn, Massachusetts): Author, title, summary for about 55 children's books about music, from All of You Was Singing by Richard Lewis to Zin! Zin! Zin! a Violin by Lloyd Moss.

Music (Louisville Free Public Library, KY): Author and title only for about 15 children's picture books about music, from Bantam of the Opera by Mary Jane Auch to Harry and the Lady Next Door by Gene Zion.

Fiction for Grades 1-9: Dance (Zuckerman's Barn, Massachusetts): Author, title, summary for about 25 children's books about dance, from Alvin Alley by Andrea Davis Pinkney to The Twelve Dancing Princesses by Errol Le Cain.

Dance (Louisville Free Public Library, KY): Author and title only for over 15 children's picture books about dance, from Dancing Feet by Charlotte Agell to Hop Jump by Ellen Stoll Walsh.

Fiction for Grades 1-9: Theatre and the Performing Arts (Zuckerman's Barn, Massachusetts): Author, title, summary for about 45 children's books about the performing arts, from The Adventures of Paddy Pork by John S. Goodall to The Wonderful Winter by Marchette Gaylord Chute.

Fiction for Grades 1-9: Crafts (Zuckerman's Barn, Massachusetts): Author, title, summary (no grade levels) for about a dozen children's books about various crafts, from Annie and the Old One by Miska Miles (rug-weaving) to Whittler's Tale by Jennifer Armstrong (whittling).

Quilts (Louisville Free Public Library, KY): Author, title, and summary for about 15 children's picture books about quilts and quilting, from Coat of Many Colors by Dolly Parton to Texas Star by Barbara Hancock Cole.

Quilts, Quilters, Quilting, and Patchwork in Children's and Young Adult Fiction (Betty Reynolds): Author, title, publication info, and summaries (for many) of short stories and novels about quilting. Age levels noted for many. Extensive. Links to Amazon book reviews.

Fiction and Non-Fiction About Quilting (Millville Elementary School, Utah): List of about 20 quilting fiction books, with author, title, summary, followed by separate lists of quilting fiction by age level -- picture books, easy readers, novels, picture books with quilts in the illustrations, picture books that use quilting techniques in the illustrations -- with no summaries.


Farming, Gardening, Rural Life in Children's Fiction

See also Horses and Other Farm Animals in Books about Animals

Bibliography: Children's Books for Garden and Plant Lovers (Wendy E. Betts, Notes from the Windowsill): Cover images, author, title, publication info, suggested reading levels, detailed descriptions for books about plants, flowers, gardens, gardening. 17 picture books and 4 books for older readers. Updated July 2005.

Fiction for Grades 1-9: Farming and Ranching (Zuckerman's Barn, Massachusetts): Author, title, summary (no grade levels) for over 75 children's books about farming and ranching, from Ace: The Very Important Pig by Dick King-Smith to Zinnia and Dot by Lisa Campbell Ernst.

Farming (Brian Sturm, Monroe County Public Library, IN): Books about farming and harvesting. Provides author and title only for books about farming, listed by age-level: 8 baby books, over 75 picture books, about 20 easy readers, and over 20 non-fiction juvenile books. Compiled Oct. 1997.

Gardening (Kansas City Public Library, KS): Author, title, and summary for 15 books about gardening, including non-fiction, fiction, and picture books.

Down on the Farm Picture Books (Karen Pepple, Elmhurst Public Library, IL): Author and title listed only for about 20 books (fiction and non-fiction) about farm life.

Books About Plants and Gardens ( Kitty Schacht - Framingham Public Library, MA): Provides title, author, short summary, webcatalog link for 30 children's books about plants and gardens, in order by author's last name. Compiled April 1999.

Let It Grow: Gardening Books for Young Children (Cary Memorial Library, Lexington, MA): PDF. Author, title, summary for about 70 children's books (fiction and picture books) on gardening, from J. Archambault's Grandmother's Garden to M. Zemach's The Little Red Hen.