Books Featuring Animals

For animals in picture books, see Picture Books Featuring Animals

Animals (General)

Animal Booklist (Ferguson Online, Stamford Public Library, CT): Author, title, one-line summary of adventure books for grades 1-2, grades 3-4, and grades 5+. About 45 titles in all.

Animal Stories (Novi Public Library, MI): 4-page PDF. Author, title, grade level (from K-8th), summary for almost 40 books, from Avi's Mayor of Central Park to William Steig's Doctor De Soto. Compiled Aug. 2005.

Realistic Stories About Animals, Including Pets (Hennepin County Library, MN): Author, title, pub. year, cover image, summary and webcat link for 40 books, from Sounder by William Howard Armstrong to Listen! by Stephanie S. Tolan. Updated Aug. 2008.

Fantasy Stories About Animals (Hennepin County Library, MN): Author, title, pub. year, cover image, summary and webcat link for about 40 books, from Poppy by Avi to Walter: The Story of a Rat by Barbara Wersba. Updated Sept. 2008.

Animal Fantasy (St. Charles Public Library, IL): A 'sampling of recommended fiction from the animal fantasy world.' The list is subdivided by reading level:' grades 2-3 (7 titles), grades 3-6 (26 books), grades 6-8 (10 books).

Realistic Animal Stories (Stanly County Public Library, NC): Books similar to Shiloh and White Fang. Author, title, publication year, page count, summary (for most) for about 30 books, from Sheila Burnford's The Incredible Journey to Gloria Whelan's Silver.

Animal Stories (Stanly County Public Library, NC): Readalikes for EB White's Charlotte's Web Author, title, publication year, page count, summary (for most) for about 45 books, from Michael Bond's Tales of Olga da Polga to Patricia Wrightson's Moon-dark.

Animal Stories (Carrie Rankin and Laurel Indalecio, El Paso PL, TX): Author, title, summary for about 35 animal books, including many classics.

Chapter Book Animal Stories ( Sarah S. Wright, Monroe County Public Library, IN): Provides author, title, one-line summary of each of almost 60 juvenile books (many appropriate for readers older than 3rd grade). From Richard and Florence Atwater's Mr. Popper's Penguins to EB White's Charlotte's Web. Compiled May 1999.

Talk to the Animals (Vicky Morgan, Boston PL, MA): Author, title, summary for about 30 'animal fantasy chapter books for children.' Compiled 2001.

Animal Fantasies for Kids (Hillsboro PL, OR): 3-page PDF. Author, title, lexile level, summary for about 30 books. Compiled April 2007.

Favorite Animal Stories (New York PL, NY): Author, title, cover image, summary and webcat link for 10 books, from Abel's Island by William Steig to The Wainscott Weasel by Tor Seidler.

Classic Animal Adventure Novels (The Logan Library - Utah): Author, title, publication year for about 30 books. Also, Novels About Animals, with the same info for another 50 books, most published more recently than the first list. Aug. 2008.

Animal Stories for 6th Graders (Highland Park PL, IL): Author, title, and webcat link for about 15 titles, most classics. Updated May 2007.

Animal Stories (Hantsweb: Hampshire County Council, UK): Author, title, cover image and summary for 8 books about animals, from The Peppermint Pig by Nina Bawden to Tom's Sausage Lion by Michael Morpurgo. Updated June 2008.

Noah's Ark Variants (Dawn Rose - Allen County Public Library, Fort Wayne, IN): Author, title, publication date only listed for about 75 books retelling or recreating the Noah's Ark story. Updated March 2006.

Dogs

Great Dog Chapter Books (Deschutes PL, OR): Author, title, cover image, summary and webcat link for bridging fiction and fiction titles about dogs, listing about 90 books in all. Continues on second page.

Dog Fiction for Young Readers (Dog Lovers Bookshop, NY): Author, title, publication info, page count, brief summary for about 45 fiction titles for kids. See also their similar list of about 80 dog picture books.

Who Let the Dogs Out? (Kansas City PL, KS): Author, title, summary for about a dozen books in each reading level: picture books, readers (chapter books), and fiction, plus some non-fiction titles. Updated May 2003.

Shaggy Dog Stories (Penticton Public Library, British Columbia): Provides author, title, summary for 20 books with dogs, from Woof! by Allan Ahlberg to Kingdom by the Sea by Robert Westall.

Books for Kids Who Love Cats and Dogs (Edmonton PL, ON, CAN): Author, title, webcat link and summary for about 20 books, plus a couple of series. Compiled Oct. 2007.

Dog Books for a 10- or 11-Year-Old Girl (Barbara Oberlin, of Marlborough Public Library, MA - Fiction-L List): Over 35 books or series listed, with author and title(s) only.

Dog Stories (St. Charles Public Library, IL): Author, title, summary, page count. The list is subdivided by reading level:' grades 2-3 (8 titles), grades 3-6 (15 books), grades 6-8 (11 books). Compiled Jan. 2000, updated 2006.

Woof! A List (The Bulletin for the Center for the Book): The Bulletin's May 1998 list of a dozen or so recommended books. Title, author, grade level, pub. year, and brief summary.

Cats

Cattails: Felines in Fiction (Penticton Public Library, British Columbia): Provides author, title, summary for 15 books with cats, from A Question of Trust by Marion Dane Bauer to Cat Walk by Mary Stolz.

A Purrfect Dozen: Cat Books for the Dog Days (The Bulletin for the Center for the Book): The Bulletin's Aug. 2000 list of a dozen or so recommended books. Title, author, grade level, pub. year, and brief summary.

Cat-Themed Picture Books (Cynthia Leitich Smith - Children's Literature Resources): About 25 books listed, with authors, titles, publication info, and summaries.

Books for Kids Who Love Cats and Dogs (Edmonton PL, ON, CAN): Author, title, webcat link and summary for about 20 books, plus a couple of series. Compiled Oct. 2007.

Cat Stories (St. Charles Public Library, IL): Author, title, summary, page count. The list is subdivided by reading level:' grades 2-3 (10 titles), grades 3-6 (19 books), grades 6-8 (8 books). Compiled Oct. 2000.

I Love Cats (Louisville Free Public Library, KY): Author and title only for over 30 books featuring cats, from Blitzcat by Robert Westall to Time Cat by Lloyd Alexander. Updated Oct. 2007.

Crazy for Cats Booklist (Kansas City PL, KS): Author, title, summary for 8 books, including picture books and fiction, about cats. Updated Sept. 2003.

Horses

Saddle Up: Chapter Books about Horses (Deschutes PL, OR): Author, title, cover image, summary and webcat link for bridging fiction and fiction titles about horses, listing about 60 books in all. Also, similar list of picture books and easy readers about horses.

Horse Stories (St. Charles Public Library, IL): Author, title, summary, page count. The list is subdivided by reading level:' grades 2-3 (9 titles), grades 3-6 (16 books), grades 6-8 (12 books). Compiled Jan. 2000, updated April 2003.

Horse Stories (Wilmette PL, IL): Author, title and webcat link for picture books, easy readers, junior fiction, and junior high fiction books about horses. About 85 titles in all. Updated July 2006.

Book List: Horses (Louisville Free Public Library, KY): Author and title only for about 20 picture books, a couple of easy readers, 12 chapter books, and some non-fiction titles. Updated Oct. 2007.

Horse Books (Louisville Free Public Library, KY): Author and title only for over 50 picture books, easy readers, chapter books, and non-fiction books featuring horses.

The Sound of Hoofbeats (The Bulletin for the Center for the Book): The Bulletin's April 1999 list of a dozen or so recommended books. Title, author, grade level, pub. year, and brief summary.

Other Pets

Rat Tales: And Other Stories of Mice, Hamsters, Gerbils and Rodents of All Kinds (Duluth Public Library, MN): Author, title, publication date, short summary for over 50 books about small rodents, from Alan Arkin's The Lemming Condition to Paul Zindel's Rats.

Pets, Please (Tacoma PL, WA): Author, title, pub. year, webcat link and summary for about 40 books, about rats, dogs, cats, spiders, frogs, multiple pet families, an octupus, a dinosaur, snakes, a horse, and others.

Farm Animals

Picture Books About Pigs, Farm Animals, and The Three Little Pigs (One Book New Jersey): Author and title listed only for 10 books on pigs, 8 books on farm animals, and 10 books that are versions of the Three Little Pigs story.

Wild Animals

Wild and Woolly: Chapter Books abut Unusual Animals (Deschutes PL, OR): Author, title, cover image, summary and webcat link for bridging fiction and fiction titles about unusual animals, such as moose, elephant, raccoon, owl, squirrel, cougar, parrot, badger, whale, fox, et. al. Lists about 100 books in all. Continues on second page.

Butterflies Booklist (Allen County Public Library, Fort Wayne, IN): List of about 40 books about butterflies, with title, author, year published. Updated Oct. 2005.

Picture Books That Aren't Just For the Birds (Ms. Brenda, Kansas City Public Library, KS): Eight picture books about birds, with author, title, summary of each.

Picture Books About Bears (One Book New Jersey): Author, title and brief summary for 20 books about bears and hibernation.

Children's Fiction About Foxes (The World of Vicki Fox): Lists more than 300 children's fiction books about foxes or fox characters, many with links to Amazon reviews.

Children's Fiction About Skunks (The World of Vicki Fox): Lists about 50 children's fiction books about skunks or skunk characters, many with links to Amazon reviews.

Chapter Book and Readers about Bugs (The Logan Library - Utah): Author, title, publication year for about 50 books. Also, Picture Books About Bugs, with the same info for another 55 or so books.

Zoo Animals

Zoo and Aquarium Books (Kansas City Public Library, KS): Author, title, and summary for about 35 books (fiction and non-fiction) about zoos, zoo animals, and home aquariums.

Picture Books About the Zoo (One Book New Jersey): Author, title and brief summary for a dozen books about zoos and the animals in them.

Sea Animals

Tuxedo Junction: A Great Place to Chill Out! (Lynne M. Kennedy, Sachem Public Library, NY): Alphabetical list of books by title, including fiction and non-fiction, juvenile books and adult, about penguins. Title, author, publication year for all, and more information, including summaries, for many. About 150 titles.

Fish Stories (St. Charles Public Library, IL): Author and title only for about 35 books on fish. Some fiction, more non-fiction. Compiled March 1997.

Imaginary and Extinct Animals

Dinosaurs (Deschutes PL, OR): Picture Books, Easy Readers, Bridging Fiction, and Fiction. Author, title, cover image, summary and webcat link for about 100 titles.

Dinosaur Stories (Wilmette PL, IL): Author, title and webcat link for picture books (mostly) and easy readers about dinosaurs. About 65 titles in all. Updated May 2006.

Dreaming of Dinosaurs: Picture Books (Penticton Public Library, British Columbia): Author and title only for about 25 books about dinosaurs.

Dragons in Chapter Books for Children and Novels for Children and Young Adults (Tina L. Hanlon, PhD): Separate sections: Retellings of Ancient Dragon Stories; Modern Dragon Stories; Dragon Episodes in Other Fantasy Novels. Author, title, publication info, and summaries that vary in length for about 45 series and stand-alone books. Also: Collections with Lots of Dragons.

Dragons, Unicorns and Other Beasties - Older Readers (Deschutes PL, OR): Bridging fiction, fiction and non-fiction. Author, title, cover image, summary and webcat link for about 70 titles.

Dragons: A Selected Bibliography for Children (Boston PL, MA): Author, title and summary for about 35 picture books and chapter books about dragons. Compiled 2001.

Dragons, Unicorns and Other Beasties - Younger Readers (Deschutes PL, OR): Almost all are picture books. Author, title, cover image, summary and webcat link for about 30 titles.

Dragons (Hillsboro PL, OR): 3-page PDF. Author, title, summary for about 30 books, including easy readers and fiction. Compiled March 2007.

All About Dragons (Houston PL, TX): Author, title, webcat link and summary for about 20 fiction titles and some non-fiction about dragons. Updated Nov. 2007.

Magical Creatures: Angels, Unicorns, Mermaids and More (Penticton Public Library, British Columbia): Provides author, title, summary for 15 books, from Skellig by Greg Almond to The Nargun and the Stars by Patricia Wrightson.

Books About Dragons (Elmhurst Public Library, IL): Author and title listed only for about 65 books about dragons, organised by reading level (picture books, beginning readers, chapter books/novels; and folktales). Updated Dec. 2000.

Dragon Illustration Booklist (Sara Patalita - Allen County Public Library, Fort Wayne, IN): Author and title only for about 70 books featuring dragon (dragon illustrations?). Updated Aug. 2008.

Dragons, Dragons, Dragons (Wilmette PL, IL): Author, title and webcat link for picture books, children's fiction, junior high fiction, and nonfiction, folktales and poetry about dragons. About 60 fiction titles in all. Updated July 2008.

Dealing with Dragons (Louisville Free Public Library, KY): Author and title only for over 20 books featuring dragons, including books by Irina Korschunow, Laurence Yep, Jane Yolen, Patricia Wrede, Bruce Coville, Ruth Stiles Gannett, etc.