Adventure Stories

Adventure Books for grades 3 and 4 (Skokie PL, IL): Author, title, pub. year, webcat link and summary for about 20 books, from Vivien Alcock's The Stranger at the Window to Elizabeth George Speare's The Sign of the Beaver. Also: Adventure Books for grades 5 and 6, with another 20 books, from Joan Aiken's Midwinter Nightingale to Jane Yolen and Robert J. Harris's Jason and the Gorgon's Blood.

Read Alikes for MY SIDE OF THE MOUNTAIN (Stanly County Public Library, NC): Readalikes for Jean Craighead George's My Side of the Mountain, these are exciting adventures about natural disasters or survival against the elements. Author, title, publication year, page count, summary for about 115 books, from Chester Aaron's An American Ghost to Johann David Wyss's Swiss Family Robinson.

More Lifetime Adventures (Multnomah PL, OR): Author, title, webcat link, grade level and summary for about 40 titles in these categories: Survival Adventures, Other Worlds of Adventure and Real Life Adventures.

Adventure (Salt Lake City PL UT): Author, title, webcat link and summary for about 35 titles.

Adventure & Survival Stories (Deschutes PL, Bend OR): Author, title, webcat link, cover image, and summary for about 40 books, from Danger Guys by Tony Abbott to Danger Along the Ohio by Patricia Willis.

Adventure for grades 3-4 (Skokie PL, IL): Author, title, pub. year, webcat link, and summary for about 20 books. See also their Adventure for grades 5-6, with another 20 books.

Adventure Booklist (Ferguson Online, Stamford Public Library, CT): Author, title, one-line summary of adventure books for grades 1-2, grades 3-4, and grades 5+. Over 40 titles in all.

Adventure Stories (St. Charles PL, IL): Author, title, summary and page count for 30 books listed by age/reading level from 2nd grade to 8th grade. Compiled June 2004.

Outdoor (and other) Adventures (Park Ridge PL, IL): Author, title, summary for about 40 titles. See also their list of Survival stories, with another 40 titles listed (with summaries).

Fiction for Grades 1-9: Adventure Stories (Zuckerman's Barn, Massachusetts): Author, title, summary for about 31 children's adventure stories, from Adam of the Road by Elizabeth Gray to Woodsong by Gary Paulsen.

Adventure (Los Angeles Public Library): Author, title, and one-line summary for about 20 adventure books for younger readers (from Debbie Allen's Dancing in the Wings to Jean Van Leeuwen's Oliver and Amanda and the Big Snow) and about 25 adventure books for older readers (from Lloyd Alexander's The Remarkable Journey of Prince Jen to Barbara Williams' Titanic Crossing).

Youth Adventure and Survival Stories (Novi Public Library, MI): 4-page PDF. Author, title, grade level (from 1st grade to 12th), summary for about 30 books, from CS Adler's A Tribe For Lexi to Gloria Whelan's Burying the Sun. January 2008.

Adventure Stories (Naperville PL, IL): 2-page PDF. Author, title, publication year, webcat link and summary for about 20 books. Compiled Feb. 2005.

Looking for Adventure- Books for Grades 5-8 (Edmonton PL, ON, CAN): Author, title, webcat link and summary for about 25 fiction titles and 6 non-fiction titles.

Adventure Stories for Grades 3-5 (Elmhurst Public Library, IL): Author, title, page count, and summary for 17 books of adventure fiction for this age group. Includes Avi's Windcatcher, Nancy Springer's Colt, and Elizabeth Winthrop's Belinda's Hurricane. Updated Oct. 2000.

Bound for Adventure (Penticton Public Library, British Columbia): Provides author, title, summary for about 20 books, from Goody Hall by Natalie Babbitt to Trapped In Ice by Eric Walters.

Adventure Stories (Carrie Rankin, El Paso PL, TX): Author, title, summary for about 25 adventure books. Compiled April 2008.

Adventure Stories, Grades 4-6 (Hewlett-Woodmere PL, NY): Author, title, and summary for about 20 books. Updated July 2007.

Awesome Adventures (Irving Public Library, TX): Almost 40 titles listed, with authors, from The Drackenberg Adventure by Lloyd Alexander to The Extraordinary Adventures of Alfred Kropp by Richard Yancey. Updated Nov. 2006.

If You Like Hatchet, You Might Like ... (Montgomery County PL, MD): Author, title, and webcat link for about 20 books similar to Gary Paulsen's Hatchet.