If You Like ... Readalikes

For Harry Potter lists, see the page on Harry Potter Readalikes.

Read-Alikes for 2nd and 3rd Graders (St. Charles Public Library, IL): Excellent resource. List of suggested books, with summaries, for these books or series: 2095, The Adventures of Captain Underpants, The Bathwater Gang, Best Enemies Again, Bugs for Breakfast, Chocolate Fever, Dolphins at Daybreak, Encyclopedia Brown and the Case of the Disgusting Sneakers, Fat Men From Space, Fourth Grade Rats, Freckle Juice, The Gadget War, Herbie Jones, How to Survive Third Grade, The Invisible Dog, Junie B. Jones is Not a Crook, Liar Liar Pants on Fire, Marvin Redpost: Class President, Max Malone Makes a Million, Monsters Don't Scuba Dive, My Father's Dragon, Old People Frogs and Albert, Popcorn, The Secret of the Seal, The Seven Treasure Hunts, There's a Shark in the Swimming Pool!, Tornado, or Vacation Under the Volcano.

Read-Alikes for 4th and 5th Graders (St. Charles Public Library, IL): Excellent resource. List of suggested books, with summaries, if you like these books or series: 101 Ways to Bug Your Parents!, The Absolutely True Story..., The Battle for the Castle, Boys Against Girls, Do Bananas Chew Gum?, Falling Up, Frindle, George Washington's Socks, Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone, Journey, The Lemonade Trick, Max and Me and the Time Machine, Mermaid Summer, A Murder for Her Majesty, Nekomah Creek, The Night the Whole Class Slept Over, No More Magic, Regarding the Fountain, The Richest Kids in Town, There's an Owl in the Shower, Shark Beneath the Reef, Stinker from Space, There's a Boy in the Girls' Bathroom, Three Terrible Trins, The War With Grandpa, Windcatcher, or The Toilet Paper Tigers.

Read-Alikes for 6th - 8th Graders (St. Charles Public Library, IL): Excellent resource. List of suggested books, with summaries, if you like these books or series: The 13th Floor, Book of Enchantments, The Day They Came to Arrest the Book, The Ear the Eye and the Arm, Granny the Pag, Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone, Letters From Camp, The Night The Heads Came, On the Devil's Court, The River, Titanic Crossing, The True Confessions of Charlotte Doyle, or The Westing Game.

If You Like ... (Christchurch City Libraries, NZ): Lists of authors, titles, and summaries for readalikes in these categories: Adventure Stories, Animal Stories, Captain Underpants, Disaster fiction, Ella Enchanted, Family Stories, Funny Stories, Geronimo Stilton, Ghost Stories, Harry Potter, David Hill, Historical Stories, The Horrible Histories series, Brian Jacques, Lemony Snicket, The Lord of the Rings, Rainbow fairies, The Roman Mysteries series, The Saddle Club series, Science Fiction, Special Agents, Sports Stories, Survival Stories, Stories of kids in wartime, and Jacqueline Wilson.

After You've Read the AMERICAN GIRLS... (Carnegie Library of Pittsburgh): Books about characters and times similar to each American Girl, listed by American Girl, with author, title, and webcat link. 8 books for Felicity; 2 for Josefina; 10 for Kirsten; 13 for Addy; 12 for Samantha; 11 for Kit; 7 for Molly; and 3 picture books.

If You Like ANNE OF GREEN GABLES (Stanly County Public Library, NC): Readalikes for Lucy Maud Montgomery's Anne of Green Gables, these are books about orphans and other outsiders. Author, title, publication year, page count, summary for about 15 books, from Nina Bawden's Carrie's War to Kate Douglas Smith Wiggin's Rebecca of Sunnybrook Farm.

Can't Find CAPTAIN UNDERPANTS? (Penticton Public Library, British Columbia): 'For More Outrageous Adventures, and Silly School Shenanigans, Try These!' Provides author, title, summary for over 15 books, from Eaton Stanley and the Mind Control Experiment by David A. Adler to Spider Storch's Teacher Torture by Gina Willner-Pardo.

If You Liked CAPTAIN UNDERPANTS ... (Weber County Library, Utah): Author, title, brief summary, and webcat link for about 25 recommended books for those who enjoyed the Captain Underpants series, from Mary Jane Auch's I Was a Third-Grade Science Project to Ian Whybrow's Little Wolf's Book of Badness.

If You Like CAPTAIN UNDERPANTS, You Might Like ... (Montgomery County Public Libraries, MD): For fans of Dav Pilkey's Captain Underpants series. Author, title, and webcat link for 14 books, from Nasty Stinky Sneakers by Eve Bunting to Secret Knowledge of Grown-Ups by David Wisniewski.

If You Like CAPTAIN UNDERPANTS (Kitchener Public Library, Ontario, Canada): Provides author and title for about 10 similar books.

Animal Stories (like CHARLOTTE'S WEB)(Stanly County Public Library, NC): Readalikes for EB White's Charlotte's Web Author, title, publication year, page count, summary (for most) for about 45 books, from Michael Bond's Tales of Olga da Polga to Patricia Wrightson's Moon-dark.

If You Like the DEAR AMERICA Series.... (Elaine Garnache, Cary Memorial Library, Lexington, MA): Provides title, author, webcatalog link, and time/setting for about 55 books with themes similar to the Dear America books. Also lists the titles in the Dear America and My Name is America series (including time/setting for each). Compiled January 1999.

If You Like The DOLL PEOPLE, You Might Like ... (Montgomery County Public Libraries, MD): For fans of Ann M. Martin's The Doll People. Author, title, and webcat link for a dozen books, from Miss Hickory by Carolyn Bailey to Dollhouse Murders by Betty Ren Wright.

If You Like ELLA ENCHANTED, You Might Like ... (Montgomery County Public Libraries, MD): For fans of Gail Carson Levine's Ella Enchanted. Author, title, and webcat link for about a dozen books, from Folk Keeper by Franny Billingsley to Enchanted Forest Chronicles by Patricia Wrede.

Read Alikes for THE GREAT BRAIN (Stanly County Public Library, NC): Readalikes for John Fitzgerald's The Great Brain, these are funny stories about the adventures of mischievous boys. Author, title, publication year, page count, summary for about 30 books, from Tom Birdseye's I'm Going to Be Famous to Barbara A. Steiner's Oliver Dibbs to the rescue!

If You Like [Gary Paulson's] HATCHET, You Might Like ... (Montgomery County Public Libraries, MD): For fans of Gary Paulson's Hatchet. Author, title, and webcat link for 20 dozen books, from Wilderness Peril by Thomas Dygard to Deathwatch by Robb White.

If You Like [Louis Sachar's] HOLES, You Might Like ... (Montgomery County Public Libraries, MD): For fans of Louis Sachar's Holes. Author, title, and webcat link for 15 books, from Frindle by Andrew Clements to Trapped In Death Cave by Bill Wallace.

If You Liked JUNIE B. JONES ... (Weber County Library, Utah): Author, title, brief summary, and webcat link for about 25 recommended books for those who enjoyed Barbara Park's Junie B. Jones series, from Suzanne Altman's My Worst Days Diary to Susan Wojciechowski's Don't Call Me Beanhead!.

If You Like the JUNIE B. JONES Series ... (Louisville Free Public Library, KY): Author and title only for 18 other girls' series, from the Doris Fein series by T. Ernesto Bethancourt to the Little House Books by Laura Ingalls Wilder.

Read Alikes for LITTLE HOUSE ON THE PRAIRIE (Stanly County Public Library, NC): Readalikes for Laura Ingalls Wilder's Little House on the Prairie, these are old-fashioned family stories. Author, title, publication year, page count, summary for about 25 books, from Thelma Harrington Bell's The Two Worlds of Davy Blount to Kate Douglas Smith Wiggin's Rebecca of Sunnybrook Farm.

If You Love LITTLE HOUSE...(For fans of Laura Ingalls Wilder) (Penticton Public Library, British Columbia): Provides author, title, summary for over 15 books similar to this American pioneer series. from Bluestem by Frances Arrington to Mary on Horseback: Three Mountain Stories by Rosemary Wells.

If You Like LITTLE HOUSE ON THE PRAIRIE, You Might Like ... (Montgomery County Public Libraries, MD): For fans of Laura Ingalls Wilder's Little House on the Prairie series. Author, title, and webcat link for about 15 books, from Black-Eyed Susan by Jennifer Armstrong to When the Circus Came to Town by Lawrence Yep.

If You Like the MAGIC TREE HOUSE Series, You Might Like ... (Montgomery County Public Libraries, MD): For fans of Mary Pope Osborne's Magic Tree House series. Author, title, and webcat link for almost 20 books and series, from Time Cat by Lloyd Alexander to Castle in the Attic by Elizabeth Winthrop.

Read Alikes for MY SIDE OF THE MOUNTAIN (Stanly County Public Library, NC): Readalikes for Jean Craighead George's My Side of the Mountain, these are exciting adventures about natural disasters or survival against the elements. Author, title, publication year, page count, summary for about 115 books, from Chester Aaron's An American Ghost to Johann David Wyss's Swiss Family Robinson.

If You Like OUR CANADIAN GIRL (Kitchener Public Library, Ontario, Canada): Provides author and title for a dozen books similar to this historical fiction series.

REDWALL Read-Alikes (Edmonton Public Library, Canada): Author, title, webcat link for books similar to Brian Jacques' Redwall series, by categories: Younger Readers (16 books); Teen Readers (12 books); Adult Novels (8 books); Redwall Picturebooks (2 books); The Redwall Series. Updated Nov. 2003.

If You Like Redwall, Try ... (Multnomah County Library, Portland, OR): Author, title, brief summary for 16 books and 8 series similar to Jacques' Redwall series, from Adams' Watership Down to Pierce's Wild Magic. Updated June 2005.

If You Like REDWALL, You Might Like ... (Montgomery County Public Libraries, MD): For fans of Brian Jacques' Redwall series. Author, title, and webcat link for about 15 books, from Perloo the Bold by Avi to Varjak Paw by S. F. Said.

If You Like [Jon Scieszka's] TIME WARP TRIO, You Might Like ... (Montgomery County Public Libraries, MD): For fans of Jon Scieszka's Time Warp Trio series. Author, title, and webcat link for about 15 books, by authors including Andrew Clements, Mark Crilley, Edward Eager, Jonathan Etra, Gery Greer, and Dan Gutman.

Lemony Snicket Read-Alikes and Supplements (Becky White - Allen County Public Library, Fort Wayne, IN): 'If you insist on trying to find more worrisome tales of grief and distress in which mysterious, tragic, and sometimes briefly amusing things happen to otherwise normal young children.' Author, title, webcat link, summary, publication year for books similar to the Lemony Snicket series based on these appeal factors: Mysteries like those that surround the Baudelaire Orphans (7 series); Orphans or kids living without much help (9 books); Humorous, in an unusual sort of way (6 books and series). Plus books that are related to the series in some way (13), and a few websites. Updated Nov. 2005.

If You Liked Lemony Snicket and the UNFORTUNATE Baudelaire Children ... (Weber County Library, Utah): Author, title, brief summary, and webcat link for about 28 recommended books for those who enjoyed the Lemony Snicket Series of Unfortunate Events, from Joan Aiken's Is Underground to Barbara Brooks Wallace's Sparrows in the Scullery.

If you enjoyed A Series of UNFORTUNATE EVENTS by Lemony Snicket, you might also like ... (Elmhurst Public Library, IL) : 2-pp. PDF. Author, title, summary for more than 20 books, from Joan Aiken's Is Underground to Barbara Brooks Wallace's Peppermints in the Parlor. Compiled 2004.

If You Love [the UNFORTUNATE EVENTS series by] Lemony Snicket ... (Edmonton Public Library, Canada): Author, title, webcat link for 15 books similar to Lemony Snicket's 'Series of Unfortunate Events,' from A House Called Awful End by Philip Ardagh to The Wolves of Willoughby Chase by Joan Aiken. Compiled June 2003.

If You Like Lemony Snicket's Series of UNFORTUNATE EVENTS, You Might Like ... (Montgomery County Public Libraries, MD): For fans of Lemony Snicket's A Series of Unfortunate Events series. Author, title, and webcat link for 15 books, from Wolves of Wolloughby Chase by Joan Aiken to Peppermints in the Parlor by Barbara Wallace.

If You Like Lemony Snicket, Try ... (Multnomah County Library, Portland, OR): Author, title, brief summary for 20 books similar to the Series of Unfortunate Events, from Aiken's The Wolves of Willoughby Chase to Wallace's Peppermints in the Parlor. Updated June 2005.